On this day in 1946: The Toronto Maple Leafs sign Howie Meeker (2003 inductee) from Stratford of the Ontario Senior League. Meeker would go on to beat out Gordie Howe for the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s Rookie of the Year during the 1946-47 season, registering 45 points in 55 games, while also setting the record for most goals scored in a game as a rookie (5). Meeker would cap off his spectacular rookie season by winning the Stanley Cup. READ MORE

On this day in 1985: A pair of BC Hockey Hall of Fame inductees captured the Stanley Cup with the Edmonton Oilers. Glenn Anderson (1999 inductee) netted a career high 26 points during the post-season as the Burnaby, BC product claimed his second of six eventual Stanley Cup titles. READ MORE

Andy Moog (2000 inductee) backed up Grant Fuhr between the pipes. Moog saw action in just two post-season games after appearing in 39 games during the regular season. The Penticton, BC product would win three Stanley Cups in his career. READ MORE

The 2016 BC Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration takes place July 22 at the South Okanagan Events Centre.  Join us in inducting Brendan Morrison, Brian Barrett, John Grisdale, Murray Baron, Pat O’Neill and the 1998-99 Vernon Vipers into the BCHFF.  Tickets are $90 for singles, or $700 for a table of eight. Call Bruce Judd for tickets at: 250-488-8695