Sign up for our e-newsletter

Follow us on social media!

The Legacy

One of the primary goals of the B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame Society is to HONOR THE PAST, PRESENT AND FUTURE of the game in B.C. through induction ceremonies, award presentations and special dinners that honor or ‘roast’ worthy persons.

The Induction Process starts with the local and regional directors nominating candidates from their region to the selection committee.

The committee is made up of members that have a variety of hockey backgrounds and that are from different regions of the province. In addition to the annual hall of fame inductees, we also have six additional awards which are handed out at the ceremonies.

These awards are presented in the names of Patricia Carter, Dunc Jamieson, Larry Ashley, Pat Quinn, and Bernie Pascall. The Dunc Jamieson award is given to a long-time volunteer of the game in B.C., while the Larry Ashley award goes to a trainer or equipment manager who best represents the qualities of the late Vancouver Canucks trainer.

These awards are chosen by sub-committees, but nominations are asked for from all directors.

The Hall also gives, from time to time, plaques or gifts to people or companies to recognize their support of the society.

Whenever possible, all presentations are done in the recipient’s home town. We feel this helps to make the society a truly B.C. wide organization.