The D.N. ‘Dunc’ Jamieson Award

‘Dunc’ Jamieson Award is presented each year to an individual who exemplifies their dedication to – and the enjoyment of – the game of hockey.

It is presented in the memory of Dunc Jamieson, a long-time supporter of minor hockey in Penticton and throughout British Columbia. In addition to receiving lifetime memberships in the Penticton Minor Hockey Association and the Okanagan Mainline Amateur Hockey Association, Dunc was also a member of the B.C. Amateur Hockey Association. Dunc Jamieson was also one of the founding members of the B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame Society.

The Patricia Carter Bursary

The Patricia Carter Bursary is presented each year in the memory of Patricia Carter, the first ever member of the B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame Society and long-time supporter of the society.

The bursary will be awarded to help young hockey players advance their education, to a person or persons who has shown perseverance and dedication to both hockey and schooling in the past, who is hoping to advance their education.

“She was a great teacher during her own life and would have loved to have known that she was helping a young student go to college’” said BCHHF director Neil Jamieson of Patricia Carter.

The Larry Ashley Award

The Larry Ashley Award is a humanitarian award dedicated to the memory of Larry Ashley, who for 16 years was a head trainer in the National Hockey League. The last 14 years of his career were spent with the Vancouver Canucks.

Larry passed away in September of 1995, following a valiant battle with cancer. The award is presented each year to an individual who has demonstrated a commitment to community sports by helping young players in achieving their goals and aspirations.

Those eligible for the award are trainers or equipment managers – professional or amateur – who were either born in British Columbia or have spent a minimum of 10 years service in the Province.

BC HockeyNow – Minor Hockey Player of the Year Award

HockeyNow recognizes the importance of supporting, promoting and giving back to the hockey community.

Our proprietary Minor Hockey Player of the Year Award programs honour individuals who best exemplify sportsmanship & leadership, hockey ability & performance, and school & community participation, serving as inspiring role models for people involved in or interested in hockey.

Since 1999, the B.C. award program has been recognized annually on the cover of the July issue of HockeyNow magazine as well as online at And in 2014, HockeyNow brought the award program into Alberta and Ontario to be able to showcase even more extraordinary minor hockey players.

Throughout the season, our regional selection teams list players regionally from around their respective province, leading to the announcement of the winners in June.

Okanagan Hockey Group/Pioneer Award

The pioneer award is presented annually, with no specific categories in hockey, rewarded for past achievements to an individual who has contributed substantially to the growth, or paved the way for the future, a person who has produced an high impact on the game as a reward for past achievements.

Bernie Pascall/Media Award

The Bernie Pascall Award is presented annually to an individual in the media who demonstrates commitment and dedication to the promotion within the game of hockey.

Pat Quinn Coach Award

In the memory of Pat Quinn, the coach award is presented annually to an individual regardless of their level of coaching that help and share excellence by educating players in the sport of hockey

All applications may be sent to the B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame Society office. View the nomination page for more info.

Nomination Page