By Bruce Judd, Executive Director of the BC Hockey Hall of Fame

We extend our condolences to the family of Buck Pacholzuk, who passed away this month. Buck was one of the original directors of the BCHHOF and a gentleman who inspired the city of Penticton to be a front runner in the field of conventions and sport facilities.

The BC Hockey Hall of Fame take this opportunity to thank the presenting sponsor Boston Pizza Corporation (Jim Treliving & George Melville) and TSN (Paul Graham) and all the contributing sponsors for making the Induction a success.

Thank you to the 2015 Inductees, who enlighten the crowd with your acceptance speeches, and to your families and friends who attended the weekend activities at the 24th Annual Induction Ceremonies.

Thank you Vancouver Canucks Trevor Linden, the Calgary Flames Brad Treliving, the Edmonton Oilers Bob Nicholson for your attendance and continued support with generous live auction packages.

The induction weekend missed the “Big Irishman” who touched so many with his friendly smile, outgoing personality making everyone comfortable around him, everyone looked towards his stage appearance with humorous tales, past experiences, but mostly the emphasis he would greet the young and old with sincerity when in the crowd, always had the time.

BCHHOF was honored to have Sandra Quinn and daughter Kalli in attendance as an award was introduced in the memory of Pat to be presented annually to an individual regardless of their level of coaching that help and share excellence by educating players in the sport of hockey.

Trevor Linden, Stan Smyl, Bob Nicholson and Jim Treliving highlighted the evening for the patrons with a hot-stove format discussing the fun times with memories of the past times of Pat.

Special congratulations to the winners of the other awards presented annually:

  • “Dunc” Jamieson Award: Larry Orr (North Saanich)
  • Patricia Carter Award: Jordan Rauser (Campbell River
  • Okanagan Hockey Group Award:Fred Sasakamoose (Kamloops)
  • Bernie Pascall Award: Gregg Drinnan (Kamloops)
  • BCNow Minor Hockey Award: Luke Burzan (North Shore WC)

This month the Selection Committee began their task of selecting the 2016 inductees out of a group of extremely talented nominees in the players, builders, and teams categories to be announced January 4, 2016 from the Vancouver Canucks Norm Jewison Media Centre.

A special thank you to Stephanie Maniago of the Vancouver Canucks for organizing the media announcement and Bernie Pascall for hosting the announcement.

We also want to extend our thanks to all our supporters for helping us establish our new sign at the South Okanagan Event Centre! 

On behalf of BCHHOF Directors – Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!